Sailcat - Motorcycle Mama

Motorcycle Mama
Label: Elektra ‎– EKS-75029
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album, Gatefold
Country: US
Date of released: 1972
Category: Rock
Style: Country Rock, Soft Rock, Pop Rock

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Rainbow Road 4:00
A2 The Thief 3:30
A3a Highway Rider 5:40
A3b Highway Riff
Written-By – Clayton Ivey
A4 The Dream 2:45
B1 If You've Got A Daughter
Backing Vocals – Court Pickett*
B2 Ambush
Written-By – Clayton Ivey
B3 B. B. Gunn 2:48
B4 It'll Be A Long Long Time 2:12
B5 Motorcycle Mama 2:06
B6 Walking Together Backwards 3:19
B7 On The Brighter Side Of It All 2:23

Companies, etc.

  • Copyright (c) – Elektra Records
  • Recorded At – Widget Recording, Inc.
  • Published By – Singing Wire Music
  • Published By – Widget Publishing
  • Published By – Muscle Shoals Sound Publishing
  • Published By – Don Tweedy Music
  • Published By – Skyhill Publishing
  • Mastered At – Elektra Sound Recorders
  • Pressed By – Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Pitman


  • Art Direction, Design – Robert L. Heimall
  • Backing Vocals – Faye Sanders (tracks: B1, B6, B7), Laura Struzick (tracks: B6, B7), Terry Woodward (tracks: B1, B6, B7)
  • Banjo – Tom Russell
  • Bass – Bob Wray, Court Pickett*
  • Concept By – John Wyker
  • Drums – Fred Prouty, Lou Mullenix
  • Fiddle – Al Lester, Scott Boyer
  • Guitar – Joe Rudd, John Wyker, Pete Carr
  • Horns [Memphis Horns Inc.] – Andrew Love, Ed Logan, Jack Hale*, James Mitchell, Wayne Jackson
  • Illustration – Jack Davis
  • Keyboards – Art Schilling, Chuck Leavell, Clayton Ivey
  • Percussion [Extra] – Bill Connell
  • Performer [Sailcat Is] – Court Pickett*, John Wyker
  • Photography By – Frank Bez
  • Producer, Engineer [Remix] – Pete Carr
  • Sounds [Sound Effects] – Brenda Hagan, Marlin Greene
  • Spoons, Other [Buck Dancing] – Jesse Gorell
  • Strings – Charles Chalmers
  • Vocals – Court Pickett* (tracks: A2 to B1 B4, B5), John Wyker (tracks: A1, A3, B3, B5 to B7)
  • Written-By – John Wyker (tracks: A1 to A3, B1 to B3, B5 to B7), Pete Carr (tracks: A3b, A4, B2, B4)


Recorded at Widget Recording, Inc., Muscle Shoals, Alabama, between October 1971 and February 1972

Inspiration, Russ Miller, Marlin Greene, Don Nix, Ron Ballew, Denny Cordell, Buck Wilken, Johnny Sandlin, Bill Stewart, Lou Mullenix.

Also "Special Thanks": Debbie Williams, Cynthia Anderson.

Special thanks to Elizabeth Meadows and George Berry for underground railroad transportation and logistics of primadonnas; Kay Farmer for zipper repair; coiffures by Diane Scoggins of Fist City Beauty Parlor Operators; Betty the Nurse of portable health aids ... and ... a special thanks to Jesse Gorell and his flying feet, who broke a 15-year retirement to Buck Dance on this project.

Dedicated to Katrina Kellogg, with Love.

© 1972 by Elektra Records, a division of Warner Communications, Inc.
Printed in U.S.A.

A1 to A3, B1 to B3, B5 Singing Wire Music, BMI
A3b, B2 Widget Publ., BMI
A3b, A4, B2, B4 Muscle Shoals Sound Publ., BMI
B6 Don Tweedy Music, ASCAP
B7 Skyhill Publ., BMI

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Runout, Variant 1): EKS 75029 A-2 RE. CP MM ESR
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Runout, Variant 1): EKS 75029 B-1 RE.⊢ CP MM ESR
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Runout, Variant 2): EKS 75029 A-2 RE. CP MM ESR SX C
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Runout, Variant 2): EKS 75029 B-1 RE.1-CP MM ESR SX B 2
  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
EKS-75029 Sailcat Motorcycle Mama ‎(LP, Album, Gat) Elektra EKS-75029 US 1972
ET-85029 Sailcat Motorcycle Mama ‎(8-Trk, Album) Elektra ET-85029 US 1972
EKS-75029 Sailcat Motorcycle Mama ‎(LP, Album, Gat) Elektra EKS-75029 Canada 1972
EKS-75029 Sailcat Motorcycle Mama ‎(LP, Album, Promo) Elektra EKS-75029 US 1972
ELK 42 113 , EKS 75 029 Sailcat Motorcycle Mama ‎(LP, Album) Elektra, Elektra ELK 42 113 , EKS 75 029 Germany 1972