Various - Interaction: New Music For Gamelan

Folk, World, & Country
Interaction: New Music For Gamelan
Label: Leonardo Music Journal ‎– ISAST2
Series: LMJ CD Series – 2
Type: CD, Compilation
Country: US
Date of released: 1992
Category: Classical, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Contemporary, Gamelan


1 A.W. Sutrisna, Gamelan Pacifica Meeting 14:42
2 Barbara Benary, Gamelan Son Of Lion Vancouver 5:05
3 I Wayan Sadra, David Fuqua, Jody Diamond, John Puterbaugh Work In Progress 8:43
4 Larry Polansky, Gino Robair, Jody Diamond (Al Het) 1:32
5 Rahayu Supanggah, Gamelan Son Of Lion Paragraph 14:11
6 Lou Harrison, BANG (Bay Area New Gamelan)* Concerto For Piano With Javanese Gamelan 23:19

Companies, etc.

  • Remastered At – Center for Contemporary Music, Mills College


  • Coordinator – Rebecca Neeley
  • Curated By – Jody Diamond
  • Remastered By – Tom Erbe


A collection of new Gamelan works by six composers.

The pieces by Harrison, Benary, and Polansky were written and recorded between 1986 and 1988. The pieces by Supanggah, Sutrisna, and Sadra were composed and recorded during residencies in 1991 with three American Gamelan groups.

The pieces on the CD provide a sampling of contemporary experimental music for gamelan, running the gamut from highly pre-determined to almost completely open-ended improvisation.